Cheesy Tortilla Pie

Ever cooked tacos and have a buttload of beef or chicken left over? Welcome to my world. It seems like EVERY time I make tacos for dinner I have over half of my meat leftover whether it be chicken or ground beef. I usually toss it but this week I decided I would create dinner out of my leftovers. Why toss what could be used again! Now, first, we are terrible leftover folks – so to put it in a pot and do tacos again was an impossible idea so I decided to try something entirely different this week. Check out this recipe for a Cheesy Tortilla Pie adapted slightly from Kraft.com. Again I’m terrible with taking pictures but this one is so easy it doesn’t need pictures! I did use tortilla chips vs. a tortilla burrito shell, but only because that’s what was in my cabinet.

Ingredients:
1lb. ground beef (Or whatever you have leftover from taco night!)
1tsp. garlic salt
1tsp. ground cumin
1/2tsp. ground cayenne pepper
1/2tsp. onion salt
1 can refried beans
1burrito-size flour tortilla (11 inch) – I used chips!
Cheese – I would go with a 1/2 of cupish but really to your liking. I chose to use 4 Velveeta slices because that’s what I had in the fridge.

Directions:
PREHEAT oven to 400°F. Brown meat in large skillet; drain. (Skip this step if using leftover taco meat) 🙂 Stir in garlic powder, cumin and red pepper. Add beans; cook an additional 5 min., stirring occasionally.
PLACE tortilla in 9-inch pie pan sprayed with cooking spray, with edge of tortilla coming up side of pan. Fill with the meat mixture.
BAKE 10 min. or until heated through; top with cheese. Continue baking 2 min. or until cheese begins to melt.

Would love to hear your ideas and yummy recipes for your left over taco meat!

Leave a Reply

